

## SJR16—(Constitutional Amendment) County Commissioners to Determine County Officers' Salaries

## **Legislative Objective**

New Mexico Counties supports legislation to amend Article 10, Section1, of the New Mexico State Constitution to authorize a board of county commissioners, rather than the Legislature, to set the annual salary of county officers. Clarifies that all fees collected by a county official are to be paid into the county treasury.

## History

Historically, counties have had to request legislation to raise county elected officials' salaries occurred every three to four years (1994, 1998, 2002, 2006, 2009, 2013, 2018).

2023	HB410	Raises County Officials Salaries	Passed HGEIC (6-0), HJC (9-0), Not Scheduled on House Floor
2022	HB219	Increase Elected County Officials Salaries	Passed H (66-0) S (38-0), Pocket Vetoed
2018	HB69	Increases Elected County Officials' Salary Caps	Enacted
2013	HB334	County Officials Salary Limit Increases	Enacted
2009	SB587	County Classification & Salaries	Enacted
2006	SB376	Salary Raises for Elected County Officials	Enacted
2002	SB41	Increase Elected County Officers' Salaries	Enacted

## **Key Points**

- County official salaries are capped by statute (Chapter 4, Article 44)
- Only county officials are capped by statute, not municipalities
- ♦ The last time the cap was raised was in 2018
- Approximately 1/3 of the 33 counties are at the cap
- The Commission already determines whether to provide increases based on budgetary limitations
- 27 Assessor, Clerk, Sheriff, and Treasurer chief deputies make more than their respective elected official (\$40k+ in some cases)
- ♦ Has always been a nonpartisan issue
- Would allow the voters to decide whether or not to remove the cap

Timing is critical this year due to the General Election in 2024. If not implemented, the next increase would not be implemented until 2027.

Removing this arbitrary cap
could benefit approximately
302 county elected officials
over the next four years:

Assessors	33
Clerks	33
Commissioners/	137
Councilors	
Treasurers	33
Sheriffs	33
Probate Judges	33

**Total County Officials**